Reggio Emilia, Italy 

July 2016 I ventured to the small town of Reggio Emilia close to the city of Bologna. During my week stay I was in the heart of Italian culture with few English speakers about. Here it opened my eyes to the relaxed way of living (far from my hustle and bustle of my home city Manchester) with volley ball games at 11 o’clock at night and ice cream parlours staying open till midnight. Here I stayed at my boyfriends brothers house and we used a local leisure centre for a pool and place to relax. Even though this was far from my usual holidays, it was one of the best I’ve been on. With the little knowledge of English there I was able to quickly pick up many Italian phrases and has now inspired me to learn the language. Here are a few pictures of the small town. 


The Eden Benessere, the leisure centre we used during our stay. It was full of locals taking part in their day to day routines of going to the gym during the week and then full of games and activities on the weekend for fun. 


One day we travelled 2 hours to the beach of Ricconi. Even though it wasn’t the nicest beach I’ve ever been to, again it was full of Italian culture, with no tourists to be seen.


Parma Town late at night. 


The town of Reggio Emilia. 


This trip opened my eyes up to what a holiday should be, the whole point of travelling is to open your mind to different and new experiences and this is what this exactly did. 

I am currently looking into studying for the summer in a town close by and again hope this will open my eyes up and educate me to life in Italy. I strongly recommended travelling to less resorts and instead in the heart of the country’s local culture. 

2 thoughts on “Reggio Emilia, Italy 

Leave a Reply

