Studying Abroad

Next year I will be given the opportunity to travel to either Australia, New Zealand or Canada as part of my degree to study internationally. 

So far I’m looking mostly into Australia as it has always been a dream of mine to visit here, however Canada is close up behind and is making the decision harder. 

As I live in the U.K. I feel as though a year on the other side of the world is going to be tough, especially with being in a relationship. 

I’m writing this post to reach out to anyone who has done a similar thing for some advice and tips on what worked best for them and to also share my excitement for the potential upcoming adventure. 

Hopefully this time next year I will be getting ready to jet away. 

12 thoughts on “Studying Abroad

  1. Hey! Well i read through and have been there. I say go for your number 1 spot because you’ll never regret that compared to always wandering what if? Also, relationship, I’m finishing up 5 years active duty in the US Marines, and I spent over a year and a half in Japan. It’ll be really difficult to adjust at first especially if you’ve never been far from home more than a week. However, advice is this, time management. For you in Australia you’ll be at least 6-10 hours ahead of UK, so end or beginning of your days are best for conversations and talking at home. I’m in the US now but Japan was 14 hours ahead of where I’m from. Basically when my day was over at 10 pm everyone was just getting to work. Skype, download Whatsapp an international (free) text and calling app. Explore like crazy! On days off keep yourself out of your room. Go walking or exploring, no need to spend money. Reason for that is you’ll stay busy and enjoy it more. Sitting in your room may trigger you to get sad or start getting home sick frequently. Last bit is mentally prepare yourself to stop calling (now) your home, home. It wont be for a while, it helps with moving because think more of an adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this, it will help me loads and I feel as though it’s something I have to do regardless of whether it will be hard being away. Seeing that you have coped away from home for so long motivates me into starting my adventure alone. I sure will explore like crazy and I can’t wait for it! Thank you again, it means the world to hear all of this and I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in the marines ☺️☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband and I did long-distance for one year before we were married. My advice is to talk. A lot. We talked on Skype every day, unless there was some event where we knew in advance we couldn’t do it. Schedule it, make it part of your day, prioritize it. If possible, have him (?) come visit you. You can explore together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Louisa, you won’t regret it if you come to Australia. It’s a wonderful country (of course I’m biased!) and there are plenty of opportunities. I have lots of conversations with my blogger friends from the UK on Whatssap which makes it really easy to keep in touch. Go for it. You’ll love it and I’ve no doubt you’ll grow and learn so much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

