My 3 top tips for learning a new language 

As of right now I can only speak fluent English however I want this to change and for the past 6 months I’ve been on and off trying to learn Italian. During this time I’ve seen what works best for someone who’s interested in learning but doesn’t necessarily have a lot of time to dedicate to it. 

  • 1. Download the Duolingo app for free. This app is strangely addictive, it recommends you doing atleast 10 minutes a day and allows you to choose from various languages. I’ve found this great down to how convienent it is. 
  • Follow a meme account on instagram in your chosen language. This is something I decided to do to try to encourage me to keep going with the learning process. It’s always a good feeling when you work out what is being said and because memes circulate and have pictures it is a lot easier to understand and work out. 
  • Watch films/series with subtitles on. People say that the best way to learn a language is to move to that country, therefore I thought by watching films in Italian it would emerse myself into that culture as though I was there. And even though I am reading the subtitles it is surprising what goes in without you realising. 

I am new to learning languages other than French and German which I did only in school. If anyone has been at it longer I’d love to hear your tips. 

Ciao!

5 thoughts on “My 3 top tips for learning a new language 

Leave a Reply

